How Bjp Won 2 Tough Seats in the Election Year 2020

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) secured a landslide victory in the Delhi Assembly elections, winning total of 62 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) could only get 8 seats.

If compared to the 2015 poll results, the BJP gained 5 seats this time. However, two particular seats in Delhi could bring a smile on the faces of Delhi BJP leadership.

Laxmi Nagar constituency in East Delhi and Badarpur constituency in South Delhi have been won by the veteran BJP candidates. BJP could never win from Laxmi Nagar before and lost from Badarpur last time.

BJP's Abhay Verma won from Laxmi Nagar seat. The seat was carved out for the first time after the delimitation of 2008 when it was won by Congress candidate AK Walia. Aam Aadmi Party won that seat in 2013 and 2015 assembly elections, but despite Arvind Kejriwal wave in the 2020 BJP managed to win it. Candidates in these two constituencies concentrated on meeting people personally. They did not make any personal comments against CM Arvind Kejriwal.

The door to door campaign by the BJP candidates helped them winning the confidence of the voters. Even these two candidates chose to stay quiet on the issue of Shaheen Bagh and national issues.

BJP MLA Abhay Verma, who emerged as the eventual winner, said, "I gave priority to only local issues. Even after winning the election, I will concentrate on the very basic things. I kept my focus on it. Knowing the reality of local issues helped me in my campaign."

Meanwhile, Badarpur Assembly was also a huge challenge for the BJP candidate. Veteran leaders were in the race for the seat. It was a battle mainly between Rambir Singh Bidhudi and Ram Singh Netaji.

Ranbir Singh Bidhuri contested the first election in 1993 on Janata Dal ticket and won, then in 1998, he was defeated by Ram Singh Netaji as an independent candidate. In 2003 Rambir Singh Bidhuri contested on NCP ticket and defeated Ram Singh Netaji. In 2008 election Ramsingh Netaji contested on Bahujan Samaj Party ticket and defeated Rambir Singh Bidhuri.In 2013, Rambir Singh Bidhuri contested for the first time on a BJP ticket and won.AAP's ND Sharma defeated him by a huge margin in the 2015 assembly elections.

But in the 2020 assembly elections, Rambir Singh Bidhuri made a comeback by defeating AAP's candidate Ram Singh Netaji. The constituency is dominated by the voters from the Gujjar community. Over time villages have become urban. During the same period, some unauthorized colonies came up. Bidhuri is quite popular in these areas. He meets local people regularly; understands their problems and most of the time offers solutions to them. Staying in the middle makes Bidhuri a popular candidate from whichever party he contests.

You can share this post!


Arpit Dubey

By Blogger

Writer looking to get famous and get fame all at once because life is small.